Can dogs suffer from depression, or is it just a human problem?

I miss you Lucky…

Mary Carter
7 min readJust now

--

Photo by Summer Stock

Lucky entered my life like a furry hurricane, a German Shepherd full of energy and unconditional love.

He was more than a dog; he was my confidant, my protector, my four-legged best friend. I never imagined that the day I left home to start my own life would be the beginning of such a difficult emotional journey for him.

I remember it like it was yesterday.

Lucky always followed me around the house, his brown eyes fixed on me as if I were the center of his universe. When I started packing, he became restless, as if he knew something was about to change.

On moving day, his look was one of pure sadness, an image that haunts me to this day.

In the first weeks after my departure, my parents called me frequently, worried. Lucky wasn’t eating properly, they said.

He spent hours lying in my old room, with no energy for the games he used to love. It was as if a part of him had gone away with me.

Have you ever wondered if dogs can suffer from depression? Well, let me tell you: they can.

And it’s not just a human whim of anthropomorphizing our pets. It’s real, painful, and, unfortunately, often misunderstood.

--

--

Mary Carter

I share candid reflections on love, sex, and life's ups and downs, no holds barred and no taboos.